Probelm report about cvx_setup on Mac

Dear CVX toolbox team

I am a student from the University of Toronto, and just started to use the CVX toolbox developed by you and Professor Stephen Boyd. I really appreciate your work and effort spent on this toolbox. However, I found that this toolbox is not working on my laptop, MacBook Pro. I’m sure I followed your procedure, and the screenshot is also attached, thank you.

Thank you for your reply, I just tried to install GGPLAB for my task about geometric programming, and I tried to run some simple examples provided in the folder. They were running pretty well on my MacBook. Can you explain what is going on? Thank you.

I’m not sure I understand the last question, what do you want me to explain? The link I shared provides all the information about CVX I know.

What I was taking about is another solver called “GGPLAB” also developed by Professor Stephen Boyd and his team, it runs well on my laptop. I’m not sure the “GGPLAB” is a sub-tool of CVX toolbox or not. I just don’t know why GGPLAB works on my laptop but CVX toolbox does not.

GGPLAB is an ancient tool which has essentially been superseded by CVX, which became easier to use after GGPLAB was last developed.

If GGPLAB works on your computer, great. But it is a different tool than CVX.

Thank you Mark, when I am trying to use it, I found that in the example shown on the website, there are just three gpvar and three constraint functions. But in my case the objective function is very simple, one only. But for the constraint function, I have got 50 of them, so I’m thinking can I use vector and matrix for the gpvar and constraint? Thank you.

I think you’re on your own using GGPLAB . I don’t think there’s any active community of users or developers.