Writing a constraint in DCP complient format (matrix should not be in quadratic form))

Hi,

I am new to CVX and I might not be used to DCP format.

I am having a problem writing down a constraint in CVX.

I would really appreciate it if somebody could see how to solve.

I need to write down this constraint in CVX.

Since CVX rejects quadratic form of matrix, I have managed to change trace into sum_square_abs without quadratic form of matrix.

However, I have no idea how to deal with ‘log_det(Q*Q’)’.

Is there anyway that I can write this without quadratic form of matrix?

Since I am not good at this, it might be easy problem, but I would really appreciate it

if someone suggest some methods.

Thank you

Hope you all doing well in the situation.

Does Q ever appear in your problem other than in the form Q*Q'? If not, then declare QQH as a CVX variable and use log_det(QQH), which CVX will accept (and automatically constrain to be Hermitian (if QQH is declared complex) positive semidefinite).

Thanks for your comment!.

I really appreciate it.

However, I need it to be Q*Q^H, since I also have a constraint shown below

In this constraint, variables are w and Q, and and I need it to be in form of ‘second order cone’ to make it convex.

So even though Q does not appear, I need to declare Q as CVX variable.

You think it’s impossible?

If you were willing to impose that Q is Hermitian psd, you could use log_det(QQ') = 2*log_det(Q). Other than that, I don’t know. Perhaps someone else has a reformulation trick.

Thank you for your suggestion!!

It would really help.

I have also tried to write down this constraint below using ‘norm’ function

However, as you might already know, norm({convex}) is rejected by CVX.

Do you happen to know other way to write it down?

Thank you again for your time spent on suggestion and comment.