Theoretical Question on extracting the solution out of the matrix in SDR

Hi,

I want to solve the following problem:
max x’Ax
s.t |x(i)| == 1; i = 1,…N.

Here, x is an Nx1 complex vector, and A is a PSD matrix.

This problem comes under non-convex problem.
So, the convex relaxation is:

max trace(XA)
s.t diag(X) == 1, X is SDP

This is what I’m doing:
clear;clc

N = 4;

A = randn(N,N)+1j*randn(N,N);

A = A*A’;

A = (A+A’)*0.5;

cvx_begin sdp

variable X(N,N) complex;

maximize real(trace(X*A));

subject to

X > hermitian_semidefinite(N);

diag(X) == ones(N,1);

cvx_end

However, I am getting the following error:
Unable to use a value of type struct as an index.

Error in cvxprob/solve (line 435)
[ x, status, tprec, iters ] = shim.solve( At, b, c, cones, quiet, prec, solv.settings, eargs{:} );

Error in cvx_end (line 88)
solve( prob );

Error in C2_Psi_CvXSolver (line 15)
cvx_end

Can you please help? I am new to CVX.

Thanks and regards
Kali

I could resolve this issue by restarting MATLAB. However, I do have a theoretical question about extracting the solution x from the matrix X. I want to mention again that we rewrite the objective as max x’Ax = max trace (xx’A) = max trace(XA) (Relaxing the rank one constraint).

Is it sufficient to take any of the column vectors as the solution?

Please read Semidefinite programming mode — CVX Users' Guide

Your statement
X > hermitian_semidefinite(N);
is not in accordance with any of the options in the CVX Usets’ Guide.

You can do

cvx_begin sdp
variable X(N,N) complex hermitian
X >= 0

or

cvx_begin
variable X(N,N) complex hermitian
X == hermitian_semidefinite(N)

or

cvx_begin
variable X(N,N) hermitian semidefinite