Need help in coding convex optimization problem

Hi everyone,

I am new to CVX, and am trying to use it to solve a convex optimization problem. The problem can be written in the following manner:

minimize sum1( W(i,j) * |A(i,j)| )
subject to
N = A*X + U
sum2(N(:,j)’ * R(:,:,j) * N(:,j)) <= constant

Where sum1 is from i=1:n and j=1:n.
sum2 is from j=1:n
W and A are n x n matrices
N, X and U are n x m

When I write code for this, I get the following error:

sqlp stop: dual problem is suspected of being infeasible
Optimal value (cvx_optval): +Inf

I know for sure that the above mentioned problem is convex. Any help would be appreciated!

The fact that the solver even began to work suggests that CVX agrees your problem is convex. (It would not have even begun if it did not). What it is saying is that the problem is infeasible: that there are no points that satisfy all the constraints.

If you are certain that the problem is feasible, then you’ve entered it into CVX incorrectly. However, you haven’t offered any source code, so there’s no way anyone can help you. Do look at this post to see how to format source code you include in your post.

Thanks Michael, I am having a look at the link you provided. Meanwhile, here is the code that I wrote:

function [A, W, obj] = algo3(X, U, S, delta, Rprime, Ebs, Beta)

n = size(X,1);
    m = size(X,2);
    A = zeros(n,n);
    W = ones(n,n);

for t = 1:500
        cvx_begin
            variable eta(n,m)
            expression constr;
            for k = 1 : m
                constr = constr + eta(:,k)'*Rprime(:,:,k)*eta(:,k);
            end
            obj = 0;
            for i=1:n
                for j=1:n
                    obj = obj + W(i,j)*abs(A(i,j));
                end
            end
            minimize obj;
            subject to
                eta == A*X + U
                for i = 1:n
                    for j = 1:m
                        if (isnan(S(i,j)) == 0)
                            if S(i,j) ~= 0