Hankel nuclear norm

Hello there, I am quite new to cvx and i though to ask for a problem I have. I try to solve the following problem

min ||Ax-b||2 +lambda*||H(x)||* where H(x) denotes the Hankel matrix of the vector x and * the nuclear norm and lambda is the penalty term. I used the following code which worked well

cvx_begin quiet

variable x(N,1)
  expression H((N+1)/2,(N+1)/2)
  for i = 1:N
      if(i<=(N+1)/2)
          for j = 1:i
              H(((j-1)+1):(j) , ((i-j)+1):((i+1-j))) = x(((i-1)+1):(i),:);
          end
      else
          for j = (i+1-(N+1)/2):((N+1)/2)
              H(((j-1)+1):(j) , ((i-j)+1):((i+1-j))) = x(((i-1)+1):(i),:);
          end
      end
  end
  minimize sum_square(Α*x - b)+ reg*norm_nuc(H)
cvx_end

My problem is that this code although ok is quite slow i used it for N=250 and it was ok but for another problem that required N=1200 it was not practical at all. I wonder if there is another solver like ADMM or something else in cvx that could be used as a remedy. Maybe am i missing something? Thanks in advance.

Perhaps you can show us the CVX and solver output? To do so, do not use quiet.

How much of the time is before output starts showing, as opposed to after?

Perhaps the CVX model formulation time, which is the time prior to output starting, can be dramatically speeded up by vectorizing the creation of H? But today is your lucky day, because hankel can be used as a keyword in a matrix variable declaration, and thereby accomplishes that for you. So use that, and extract x from it. The Basics — CVX Users' Guide