How to solve Semidefinite relaxation (SDR) problem using CVX

Hi,
I am completely new to CVX. I have an optimization problem which I solved through semidefinite relaxation method (SDR) and comes up with the solution given in figure![SDR_problem|667x500]!

I have to solve this problem using CVX.
The code is below

n=100;
    K=6;
    sigma=-114;
    cvx_begin
    variables V(n,n) z
    minimize z
    subject to
    for k=1:K
     trace(A(:,:,k)*X) >= z*sigma^2 ;      
    end        
    diag(V) == ones(n,1); 
    X == semidefinite(n);
    cvx_end

Now the issue is in order to make the initial problem relaxed i introduced “z” as a slacked variable. I am not understanding how this z will be tackled in code.

Anyone who can please guide.

I suppose you mean to have V instead of X in two places in your code (you never even declare X or set it as an expression).

I don’t really understand your problem, but in the SDR, generally you would be replacing V == v*v', which is non-convex, with [V v;v' 1] == semidefinite(n+1) and rank(V) == 1, which is also non-convex, which gets relaxed to just [V v;v' 1] == semidefinite(n+1), which is convex (because it eliminates (relaxes) the non-convex rank(V) == 1 constraint). I’ll leave it to someone else to determine whether v need not be defined here, and the constraint V == semidefinite(n) is sufficient, as shown in the pink box. rather than [V v;v' 1] == semidefinite(n+1)

If the relaxed (not slacked) problem solution is not rank 1, then you will not have a solution to the original problem, but only a lower bound on its optimal objective value.

Further, you need declare to V as symmetric.

You might want to carefully study https://web.stanford.edu/~boyd/cvxbook/ in order to more deeply understand convex optimization and formulation.

Yes sorry it is V not X.
And yes the obtained solution will be only a lower bound because in this particular scenario it is not possible to get rank (V)=1. I am confused about z variable.