Representing a convex optimization problem

I am new to this software. Can you help me write this convex optimization problem inside the convex solver. I mean how to represent it inside cvx_begin and cvx_end

min_{q_1,q_2,...,q_n} \sum^{S}_{d=1} \sum^N_{j=1} \gamma_d p_j (1- min(1,dq_j))
s.t
\sum^N_{j=1} q_j = M
0 \leq q_j \leq 1 \forall j \in [1,N]
q_j = m_j/n

This can be entered into CVX almost exactly as written. Please read the CVX Users’ Guide http://cvxr.com/cvx/doc/ . Then fell free to ask for any specific help after you have done so.

The problem does seem a bit strange, though. Because m_j and n are not listed among the variables being optimized, q_j = m_j/n appears to completely constrain the q_j leaving no degress of freedom, i.e. rendering the optimization problem moot.

If I know q_j I can calculate m_j because n is constant. I have one question to check my implementation form the objective function I should write the sum as a two for loops ?

You can use a double for loop. However, for speed of execution, it will be better to use a double sum, i.e., sum(sum( ... )) .

But as I wrote above, for this problem, there is nothing to optimize, and you will get the same argmin (optimal value of variables) no matter what the objective function is. There will either be a unique feasible solution, or the problem will be infeasible.

I calculated the value of \gamma_d for each d and p for each j and stored them as a vector

S = 10;
M = 50;
cvx_begin      
       variable q(N)
       for d = 1 : S
           for j = 1 : N 
              f = (gammad(d).*P(j)*(1- min(1,d*q))) 
           end
        end
       minimize (f)
       subject to
       sum(q) ==  M ;
       0 <= q <= 1;
    cvx_end

I suppose to get a vector of length N for q but it shows an error “Your objective function is not a scalar.” Can you help me ?