Minimum of a minimum in CVX

Hi,

Sorry if this is a basic question. I’m new to CVX and my problem is as follows - I have tried to create a minimum working example:

Variable \rho is a matrix
Minimize Tr(\rho A) + \inf_{\sigma \in X} D(\rho, \sigma).

Here D is the trace distance between \rho and \sigma for \sigma \in X, where X is a convex set. Hence the objective function is indeed convex. The first part can be expressed using norm_nuc. How do I express \inf_{\sigma \in X} D(\rho, \sigma)? Can CVX do this type of minimum of a minimum optimization?

Perhaps my notation is confusing or there is an error in terminology so let me clarify the problem first. I have some convex set X embedded inside a larger set A. So X \subset A. I have elements \rho \in A. The function D(\rho, \sigma) = ||\rho - \sigma|| finds \sigma \in X such that the distance (any valid metric) from \rho to \sigma is minimized.

It is the shortest line from \rho to X.

Proof that this is convex:
Consider \rho_1, \rho_2 \in A and let \sigma_1, \sigma_2 \in X be the respective closest points.
For any \lambda\rho_1 + (1-\lambda)\rho_2, we want to show that there exists \sigma_3\in X such that ||\lambda\rho_1 + (1-\lambda)\rho_2 - \sigma_3|| \leq \lambda ||\rho_1 - \sigma_1|| + (1-\lambda)||\rho_2 - \sigma_2||

Let \sigma_3 = \lambda \sigma_1 + (1-\lambda)\sigma_2. Since X is convex, \sigma_3\in X. Then we have,
||\lambda\rho_1 + (1-\lambda)\rho_2 - \sigma_3|| = ||\lambda(\rho_1 - \sigma_1) + (1-\lambda)(\rho_2 - \sigma_2)|| \leq \lambda ||\rho_1 - \sigma_1|| + (1-\lambda)||\rho_2 - \sigma_2||.

The last line uses a triangle inequality.

http://cvxr.com/cvx/doc/advanced.html#new-functions-via-partially-specified-problems

Sorry, I tried to understand how this was done but couldn’t quite follow. Would you be able to add a few words, specific to my problem?