Cvx optimization Problem

Hello, I’m new to cvx and optimization in general and I’m trying to find the optimal sensor location of a set of sensors by maximizing the minimum eigenvalue of a gram matrix.
sssw

Unbenannt
Where W_o ist the sum of the gramians for each sensor position sss

I’d tried to solve the problem like this:

n=size(A,1);
C=zeros(n,n);
m=10;
sumGramian=0;

cvx_begin
variable b(m)
for i=1:n
C(i,i)=1;
gramian(:,:,i)=lyap(A’,C’*C);
C(i,i)=0;
sumGramian=sumGramian+gramian(:,:,i)*b;
end

maximize(lambda_min(sumGramian))

subject to
b >= 0;
b <= 1;
sum(b)<=4;
cvx_end

where A is 10x10 matrix created with matlabs rss() function. My problem is that I don’t get a matrix to maximize, because the gramian matrix is multiplied by a vector. If i change the activation b function to a nxn matrix my solution looks like this:

b:
(1,1) 0.4000
(2,2) 0.4000
(3,3) 0.4000
(4,4) 0.4000
(5,5) 0.4000
(6,6) 0.4000
(7,7) 0.4000
(8,8) 0.4000
(9,9) 0.4000
(10,10) 0.4000

But I’d like to use only a specific amount of sensors to maximize the function and not all sensors. Can anybody help me pls?

The optimization problem is from this paper: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9483072

In the CVX forum, the question asker is assumed to have determined the convex optimization problem they wish to solve with CVX. This is not the right place to figure out how to model an optimal sensor location problem as a convex optimization problem. There is a huge literature on such things, some of which explicitly make use of CVX.

The problem is already formualted as a convex optimization problem and I’m trying to implement it to cvx. I did get the desired result for maximizing the trace setting the activation function as a matrix, but it doesn’t work for maximizing the minimum eigenvalue.