H{l}=h{l}*h{l}';
cvx_begin
    variable w_p{nR,nR};
    variable w_j{nR,nR};
    w_p_bar=0;
    w_j_bar=0;
    W_p=w_p*w_p';
    W_j=w_j*w_j';
f_1(W_p,W_j)= log2(trace(W_p*H{l})+ trace(W_j*H{l})+ Np^2)+ log2(trace(W_j*H{l})+Np^2);
f_2(W_p,W_j)= log2(trace(W_p*H{l})+ trace(W_j*H{l}+ Np^2))+ log2(trace(W_j*H{l})+Np^2);
   maximize(f_1(W_p,W_j)-f_2(W_p_bar,W_j_bar)-trace(H{l}*(W_p-W_p_bar))+H{l}*(W_j-W_j_bar)/ log2(trace(W_p_bar*H{l})+trace(W_j_bar*H{l})+Np^2)-H{l}*(W_j-W_j_bar)/ log2(trace(W_j_bar*H{l})+Np^2)) ;
    subject to
        trace(W_p*H{l})/trace(W_j*H{l})+ Np^2 >= Cp;
        trace(W_j)<= Pjmax;
        trace(W_p)<=Ppmax;
cvx_end

Hello everyone, I’m new to cvx and matlab. When I run this code I receive the error
Disciplined convex programming error:
Only scalar quadratic forms can be specified in CVX

Error in c2 (line 21)
W_p=w_p*w_p’;
w_p and w_j are beamforming vectors. Can somebody please guide me to code the beamforming vectors? Also if there are any other errors please let me know. This is my bachelor thesis and I really need the help.

is this a convex optimization problem? Have you proven it so?

Let’s look at one model piece, and use the cyclic permutation invariance of trace, which you should be familiar with, given the nature of your thesis problem, as well as the fact that trace(X*X") = norm(X,'fro')^2

log2(trace(W_p*H{l}) =
log2(trace(w_p*w_p'*h{l}*h{l}')) = 
log2(trace(h{l}'*w_p*w_p'*h{l) = 
log(norm(w_p'*h{l),'fro')^2)/log(2)

So this reformulation avoids the “illegal” formulation of matrix times matrix transpose. But it is log(convex) which is illegal. So I will declare this to be a non-convex problem, unless you prove otherwise.

This reformulation would work for trace(W_j)<= Pjmax; (and trace(W_j)<= Pjmax;)

square_pos(norm(w_p'*h{l),'fro')) <= Pjmax
or better yet
norm(w_p'*h{l),'fro') <= sqrt(Pjmax)

Here is a beamforming problem in CVX. Whether this has any relation to your problem is a matter I leave to you.