Convexity, Semidefinite Programming and rank-minimization

Hi there!
I’m an electrical engineering student trying my hands on optimisation, and would like to solve a system with quadratic combinations of data contained in a vector b, as seen below.
CodeCogsEqn%20(2)

I really tried finding my answers in the book of Boyd and Vandenberghe, and other littereture on the topic, but I am finding it hard to sort out the relevant information in all the new stuff I am reading. Therefore I thought I’d try my luck here.

For solving this problem i i found a rank minimization technique in here:
In "M.Fazel, H.Hindi, and S.Boyd,“Rank minimization and applications in system theory,” presented at the Amer. Contr. Conf. Boston, MA, USA, Jun. 2004. , and uses this to encourage low-rank solution, since I have relaxed my problem with a semidefinite relaxation.

My optimization problem then looks as follows:
CodeCogsEqn
subject to
CodeCogsEqn%20(3)

The idea is to be able to choose specific quadratic combinations of the vector b with a “selector matrix” E.
Se code below (implemented in MATLAB)

cvx_begin quiet
variable X(sysdata.N,sysdata.N) hermitian semidefinite
minimize( trace((X_last+sysdata.delta*I)^(-1)*X) )
subject to
for i = 1:sysdata.M
    for j = 1:sysdata.M
        if sysdata.E(i,j) == 1
            Qij = A(j,:)'*A(i,:);
            abs(trace(Qij*X)-B(i,j)) <= sig;
        end
    end
end
X == hermitian_semidefinite(sysdata.N)
cvx_end

My questions:

Program is running rather slowly, is there any way to speed it up?
How is my problem convex or what ensures the convexity?

Thank you in advance
Rasmus

What solver are you using? Try Mosek if it is available to you and you have CVX Professional or Academic.

Remove the quiet option until you have the program working well. By doing so, you will see the solver and CVX output. Perhaps some readers can offer guidance if they see the solver output.